Twenty-something Days

I feel displaced. Not in a bad way, but in a ‘world is your oyster’ kind of fashion. And when it comes down to being a twenty-something – who has just spent twenty-something days roaming the United States and now in Japan, there is a certain kind of perspective you develop. It’s personal, it could be the same or vastly different for you – but to me it’s an odd sentiment to the normality of difference.

I remembered this song when thinking about this post.

I lose concept of ‘comfort’ and in doing so, lose habit and familiarity. And to me, this is why travel is an opportunity not just for sightseeing, but considering new possibilities, broadening how we approach the day-to-day and, considering that opportunities and moments are finite – that is, until your next ride takes you far away from where you have just been.

The time value on travel is so high, that for even the shortest of times are cherished just that little bit more, knowing that there may be no possibility in returning; and our eyes must be facing forward. But then again, time and comfort are things we grow to rely on far too much. And in comfort is familiarity.

For me, the point at which I arrive back ‘home’ and think to myself that ‘this is different’ is probably the point at which I consider that I’m starting afresh. I’d say it’s around the two week mark for me. And surprisingly, at the point can home really be home?

Then I thought to myself, what is ‘home’? Is it just a term we describe our physical address where we plan to start a new day? Is it where we feel the most comfort?  Is it where we think we belong? I find it difficult to have a clear idea on it. A little research showed how I wasn’t alone in this thinking and I found a terrific TED talk below by Pico Iyer

There are many great points he makes, and especially in his closing lines: Movement is a fantastic privilege, and it allows us to do so much that our grandparents could never have dreamed of doing. But movement, ultimately, only has a meaning if you have a home to go back to. And home, in the end, is of course not just the place where you sleep. It’s the place where you stand.

So when I think that I’ve been so many great places. I could say that the USA has been home for the past few weeks. I can say home has been Row 32 in Economy. The drivers seat of the Mazda 2 blasting through the Southwest. However it’s just so much bigger.

It is whatever I want it to be.

Each corner of the world is just an experience that makes me look at life in a slightly different light, and that’s where I know – home – is Earth. It’s here. It’s where I am. It’s where I’m going. It’s where I’ve been.

One thought on “Twenty-something Days

Leave a Reply

